SMART Goals

Posted: March 2, 2013 in Interesting Facts

99

SMART Goals

A useful way of making goals more powerful is to use the SMART mnemonic. While there are plenty of variants (some of which we’ve included in parenthesis), SMART usually stands for:

  • S – Specific (or Significant).
  • M – Measurable (or Meaningful).
  • A – Attainable (or Action-Oriented).
  • R – Relevant (or Rewarding).
  • T – Time-bound (or Trackable).

For example, instead of having “To sail around the world” as a goal, it’s more powerful to say “To have completed my trip around the world by December 31, 2015.” Obviously, this will only be attainable if a lot of preparation has been completed beforehand!

– See more at: http://www.mindtools.com/page6.html#sthash.NLXnKaVw.dpuf

Comments
  1. emailboxcm says:

    That’s a good acronym.

  2. wiggley01 says:

    Im going to put this up on my wall…Good job!

  3. sandrachz says:

    I really like this ! We always say we are going to do certain tasks and goals but we never set a timeline. A lot of us are also not realistic about how we will accomplish our goals either. We have to be sincere with our capacities and our schedules. We all have hectic lives, filled with work, school, family or all of these. I always break down my goals into steps. It makes them easier to achieve.

    It sounds more dramatic to say you will save 2400 dollars by 2014, than to say you will save 200 dollars each month. This works for me because i am a procrastinator. if i do not break my goals in steps i might not get around to achieving them.

  4. paulemm says:

    Your smart goals are pretty smart. They are all important and should be followed by anyone who want to realize their goals.
    Sometimes I try to make a list of goals that I want to achieve durning the year, but I lose track of them all the time.

  5. I like this acronym. I agree with the idea that it is better to give your goal an exact date. I believe if you do this then you would be more likely to attain your goal.

    I think that you would have more drive to complete the preparations to get to your goal. Just keep a positive mind, and do everything that it takes to get to your goal. That’s inspiring.

Leave a Reply

